WV     DHHR     MIS      WVCDHH DHHR Site Search       DHHR Site Map

West Virginia Commission for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing

November 13, 2003

Capitol Complex, Building 6, Room 819-B

Commission Members Present:

Jennifer Burgess
Dr. James T. Spencer
Jim Harrison
Emily Hopta
Barbara King
Pat Moss
Delores Pyles
Pierre Sevigny

Commission Members Absent:

Doug Godfrey
Gary Vandevander

Dr. Charles Abraham
Dr. Dee Braley
Dr. Michael Sullivan

J.D. Corbin
Pam Roush


Deanna Stone, Commission Office


Roy Pyles


I. Welcome

Pierre Sevigny called the meeting to order at 1:34 p.m.

II. Approval of the Minutes

Pat Moss moved that the minutes be approved as read. Dr. Spencer seconded the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved.

III. Executive Directorís Report

Deanna Stone reported that the purchase order for TTYs is in process and that all requests should be filled within the next few months. She also noted three changes in the TCD Loan Application form. Applicants will be required to submit a copy of their most recent hearing test to assure the phone best suited to their needs and will be asked if they use a hearing aid or cochlear implant for the same purpose. Phone models will be described rather than listed in name only to aid the applicant in selecting the most appropriate phone. Applicants will also be required to report their annual income.

The office will offer up to two practicums to Fairmont State College students annually. The practicums will entail some interpreting and event planning, as well as other needs during the studentís time with the Commission.

Board members will be polled by email to see if a Friday meeting day is preferable to Thursdays due to travel time.

A Code of Conduct has been prepared for review and will be discussed at the next meeting. The document clarifies that board membership provides no benefits to board members or families, and such a document is commonly required for grant applications.

Deanna also distributed a written report to board members to be read at their leisure.

IV. Board Applications

An online application for board membership is now available on the Commission website. Thanks to Barbara King and Deanna Stone for their work on this project.

V. Mission Statement

Board members reviewed the draft revised mission statement as submitted by Pat Moss. The new version is intended to encompass and embrace the Commissionís work and direction, which centers on policy and advocacy rather than case management. Board members will vote on the mission statement at the next meeting.


VI. John Law, Assistant Secretary for Communication and Legislative Affairs

By board membersí request, John Law presented on the Board appointment process and board term reviews. John noted that all persons currently appointed to the Board have expired terms; however, the Supreme Court has ruled that board members continue to serve until the reappointment process has occurred. There is currently a discrepancy in the state code on the number of appointed members to the Commission, which will require legislative action to correct. The number of appointments will remain at nine board members. He also addressed the possibility of changing the requirement for a census. John expressed his appreciation for the work of the board members and noted that board input is a necessary part of the legislative process.

VII. Deafywood

Fairmont State College requested a donation to assist with funding for a performance of Deafywood in April 2004. The board approved a donation of $400.

VIII. Delores Pyles

Delores Pyles, an original member of the board, resigned. Pierre Sevigny presented Mrs. Pyles with a framed letter from the Commission, thanking her for 14 years of service.

IX. Executive Session

The board adjourned into executive session at 3:40.

X. Adjournment

Delores Pyles moved that the meeting be adjourned and Jimmy Harrision seconded. The vote passed unanimously and the meeting concluded at 4:00 p.m.


Back to WVCDHH Homepage