Office of Communications
For more information contact:

Joe Thornton
Office of Communications & Legislative Affairs
West Virginia Department of health and Human Resources
Phone: 304-558-7899 Fax: 304-558-7075
Cell: 304-546-7960 e-mail:

For immediate release

West Virginians honored by women’s commission

The achievements of 12 women and one man who have helped shape the state through their contributions to society will be honored by the West Virginia Women’s Commission. The awards ceremony will take place during the 19th annual Celebrate Women Awards dinner on May 1 at the Embassy Suites, Charleston.

Recipients were selected from a state-wide group of nominations in 12 categories ranging from the arts to government to volunteer service. A special 13th category, the Commissioners’ Award, will also be presented.

The 2004 honorees are Catherine Miller, Buckhannon, arts; Nanya Friend, Charleston, business; Barbara Bias, Huntington, education; Sharon Weaver, Clarksburg, government; Rita McCrobie, Bretz, labor; Loretta Haddy, Charleston, science and math; Joan C. Browning, Lewisburg, Mountaineer spirit; Eunice L. Green, Dunbar, professions; Patricia H. White, Poca, public service; Alexis Hornbuckle, South Charleston, sports; Lucille Pianfetti, Cross Lanes, unsung hero; Tonya Daft, Mannington, volunteer service. Speaker of the West Virginia House of Delegates Bob Kiss will be awarded with the Commissioners’ Award.

The awards were established to highlight positive role models, assist young women in establishing career goals and to recognize the need for selfless service in addressing the issues and concerns of importance. Realizing that one person’s efforts can make a positive difference in the lives of others.

For more information contact the women’s commission at 304-558-0070

– 30 –